Is Loving Your Own Racial Identity Inherently Racist–i.e. Supremacist–or Nah?

Instasize_1013153331

Accepting the #‎ThinkTankNFP‬ “I Love Being Black Because…” challenge got me wondering how my friends of other ‘races’ might complete the same sentence. So… how about it? This isn’t a part of the #‎ThinkTankNFP‬ challenge. I’m just curious is all. Complete this sentence, please: “I love being [enter your race here] because…”

P.S. I expect that some will say racial love is inherently, even if not intentionally, racist–particularly love steeped in whiteness–but is that the case, in your opinion? Is racial self-love inherently racist–i.e. supremacist–or nah? #dontBSyourself

4 thoughts on “Is Loving Your Own Racial Identity Inherently Racist–i.e. Supremacist–or Nah?

  1. I read this the day you posted and attempted to answer then, I couldn’t think of a thing…nothing that I love specifically about being white. So I gave myself time and thought of the question off & on over the next couple of days…still nothing. I came up with reasons that I love being female, being American, being a mother…but being white…nothing. It’s a neutral feeling…it’s what I am…like 5’2″ with eyes of blue…just me.

    Like

    1. Pretty much. I do know my white privilege. That is something I learned very young by seeing unfairness based on race. But that is not something that I can love either. It’s there but outside myself. It walks around with me just like your minority disadvantage.

      Like

Leave a Reply

